School History

SRG View From The Sky

Summary of School

St Richard Gwyn Catholic High School is an oversubscribed 11-18 mixed Catholic comprehensive school serving the population of Flintshire in North Wales. It was founded in 1954 to serve the Catholic population of Flintshire.

It is one of three Catholic secondary schools in the Catholic Diocese of Wrexham, the others being St Joseph's RC High School, Wrexham and Blessed Edward Jones RC High School, Rhyl.

It is a mixed school, currently serving close to 1000 pupils (including a mixed sixth form of over 120). It draws its pupils and students from the Roman Catholic parishes of Flint, Holywell, Queensferry, Mold, Saltney, Buckley, Connah's Quay, Hawarden and Pantasaph.

Our most recent 2008 Estyn and Diocesan Inspections quotes:

"This is an Outstanding Catholic School" "Outstanding pupil motivation and behaviour" "Outstanding pastoral care, respect for diversity and working relationships" "Outstanding leadership and management" "Outstanding GCSE results" "Outstanding working relationship with parents" "We haven't seen such an entire school behaving so well before" (Inspector comment)

Its patron Saint, St. Richard Gwyn, was canonized in 1970; prior to this, the school was called "Blessed Richard Gwyn Roman Catholic High School". The school observes his feast day on 17 October with a whole school Mass; every year, this is preceded by a week of religious observance and themed lessons as part of a "whole school retreat" that is called a faith 'focus week'.

The school excels in its pastoral care (Estyn) and provides both and excellent academic education in addition to offering many extra-curricular activities. Particularly vibrant are the Activities week, the Focus week, Theatrical and Musical Performances, Art Exhibitions, Science Shows, Eisteddfod and Faith Retreats. Academic standards are excellent and achievement at all levels is outstanding.

In each year from years 7 to 11 there are usually 6 form groups consisting of letters H, Q, M, S, F, B

  • H = Holywell,
  • Q = Queensferry,
  • M = Mold,
  • S = Shotton,
  • F = Flint,
  • B = Buckley,

There are three school houses; Dewi, Gwen and Beuno